Joy in His Presence

          There is something so special about adoration chapels. Something so satisfying, so welcoming, something so simple, yet so extraordinary. For those of you who are not Catholic, an adoration chapel contains the Eucharist, the full presence of Jesus in the form of a piece of bread, in a Monstrance (the vessel used to hold the consecrated Host). It’s hard to explain exactly what I feel while sitting in the presence of Jesus, but I can say there is JOY. My human mind can’t fully comprehend what that means; I sit in the true presence of Jesus, face to face. He fills my heart whether I feel it or not just by His Presence.

“The soul hungers for God, and nothing but God can satiate it.” –St. John Vianney

          This past year at Franciscan I literally lived with Jesus! Each dorm at Franciscan has a chapel and I lived on the same floor as the chapel this year. It was so nice to be able to wake up and walk right down the hall and sit with Jesus for a few minutes before starting each day. I was able to spend time with Him both first thing in the morning as well as right before going to sleep. It always amazed me at how packed our chapel would be late at night. Not being able to find a spot to sit actually filled my heart with JOY. I can’t begin imagine the JOY it brought Jesus.

          Besides having the Blessed Sacrament in every dorm on campus, Franciscan also has its own perpetual adoration chapel. Known as “the port” this tiny rock chapel held Jesus for twenty-four hours every day. It amazed and inspired me to think some students and even faculty would take the early hours in the morning just to make sure Jesus could be adored every single moment of the day

“When you approach the tabernacle remember that He has been waiting for you for twenty centuries.” -St. Josemaria Escriva

          This quote gets me every time. Walking to the chapel in my dorm, Jesus has been waiting for me for twenty centuries. Walking to the port, Jesus has been waiting for me for twenty centuries. Walking into any adoration chapel in San Antonio this summer, Jesus has been waiting just for me; for me to come visit Him and spend time with Him. That’s the beauty and the JOY of adoration chapels. They may all look different on the inside, but in a certain, incredible way, they are all the same. Inside them is the one who our souls hungers for, only He can satiate the hunger. Jesus quietly awaits me in chapels across San Antonio, across the world. No matter where I go, He is there awaiting my company. There is something so special about adoration chapels. Go see for yourself.

Portiuncula

The Portiuncula at Franciscan University.

Adoration

Adoration chapel of the Sisters of St. Francis of Perpetual Adoration.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Joy in His Presence

  1. Sister M Regina DeVreese says:

    What a lovely post on the Presence of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament! Your blog brings me great JOY and I especially appreciate the picture of the place where He is waiting for us on Mount Alverno 😉

    Miss you!
    Love and prayers!!!
    Sister M Regina

    Liked by 1 person

    • seedsofjoyblog says:

      Thank you Sister Regina! Y’all’s chapel is so beautiful 🙂 I’m so happy you got to read my blog! Hi to you, Sister Ignatia and Sister Lisetta!
      Miss you too! Praying for you and all of your Sisters!

      Like

Leave a Reply

