JOY Filled Holy Hours (at 3am)

            One of the many reasons I love my University is because of its passionate love for Jesus. There are so many opportunities to grow in faith at Franciscan, including my personal favorite, perpetual adoration. We have a perpetual adoration chapel known as the Port. At the beginning of the semester it is open for students to visit Jesus twenty-four hours a day. For roughly three months Jesus is adored every minute of every day on our campus. Last year I had a holy hour for the first time. A holy hour basically means at the same time each week you sit with Jesus for one hour. My hour was 12:45 pm on Wednesdays. The middle of my week was spent in the beauty of the Blessed Sacrament. This semester I knew I wanted a holy hour but I couldn’t figure out what time. In the midst of not being able to decide, Jesus decided for me. One of my friends came up to me and said, “Hey Eileen, do you want to do a Holy hour with me at 3?” I checked my schedule and saw that I was free. It was quickly followed by, “3 in the morning.” Three in the morning?!?! I guess it never occurred to me that people actually took those hours. After thinking about it for a couple of days I decided to go for it. It almost seemed like Jesus was inviting me to spend time with Him when no one else would. So let me tell you how my first of many holy hours for this semester went.

          The week went by and I had completely forgotten about my early morning holy hour. When I finally remembered I began to question why I had agreed to it. For a good five minutes I thought about the lack of sleep I had had this week and how waking up in the middle of the night was the last thing I needed. But then something changed; I was filled with JOY and excitement. I realized it wasn’t me who decided to have this holy hour, it was Jesus who had desired to spend time with me. In that moment I felt so loved and so excited to wake up at 2:45am to literally just hang out with Him. Fast forward to 2:50am. My alarm goes off and I quietly slip out of my room and walk across campus to the Port with my friends. Campus was completely silent and dark, everyone else was asleep, everyone except Jesus. There was something so interesting about this holy hour, I was able to stay awake the entire time, something I was never able to do last year. Jesus provided the graces and strength I needed to be present to Him.

Do you realize that Jesus is there in the tabernacle expressly for you – for you alone? He burns with the desire to come into your heart…” –St. Therese of Lisieux.

       From now on this quote will be on my mind when I am walking to my holy hour. He is there specifically for me. He burns with a desire to see and spend time with me. He wants to bring me JOY and this semester he decided I would need it most at 3am. When does Jesus desire to spend time with you? Ask Him and allow yourself to be desired and loved by the creator of your heart.

 

-Eileen

Leave a Reply

