Joy in the chaos

My life is crazy, but I love it! The past few weeks have been jam packed with school work, studying, organizations, and friends. Every week I look at my calendar unsure of how I am going to finish everything, and at the end of every week I look back in awe of what I have accomplished. A typical week for me includes four classes, two labs, leading a bible study and a small group for freshmen, volunteering at a clinic every thursday for four hours, and participating in two pre-med organizations. Not to mention finding time for prayer and daily mass. It can be overwhelming at times. Last year I struggled to balance everything I had to do and this led to a lot of stress. This year I was very determined to control my stress and it has been going so well. I have been able to put everything in perspective and realize I am always going to try my best and that is all I can do. I find myself so much calmer about everything I have to do. My load is a lot but I remind myself it is completely doable. I feel, more than ever before, that Jesus is on my side.

Most merciful has been the way by which the Divine Master has ever led me. He has never inspired me with any desire and left it unsatisfied, and that is why I have always found His bitter chalice full of sweetness. -St. Therese of Lisieux 

I trust that Jesus has placed this desire on my heart to serve others through medicine and I know with certainty He will not leave me to accomplish this alone. I thrive in the chaos because Jesus himself has led me to it. He known my heart, and Has been able to fill me with the JOY of learning, the JOY of wintering to others, the JOY of service, and the JOY of friendships. Friendships can be such a difficult part of college, and I feel so blessed to have such great supporters that I can always lean on.

“There is nothing on this earth more to be prized than true friendship.”-St.  Thomas Aquinas

Prayer is what ties my whole life together. Consistency isn’t always easy, but it is absolutely necessary. When I come to pray I can truly rest in the Lord and allow him to guide my every action. Everything I do, the interactions I have with others, my dedication to my school work, is for the greater glory of God. Prayer allows time to reflect on myself and see if this is actually true in my life, to see if all my actions are truly centered on the Lord.

“Pray as though everything depended on God. Work as though everything depended on you.” -St. Augustine

-Ana

Leave a Reply

