The Joy of a Mother

       Recently I’ve been very aware of Mary’s presence more than ever.  Well I guess she’s always been with me, but I’ve been very aware of her presence these past few months. This weekend, for my fall break, I had the opportunity to spend a few days in Washington DC with a group from my school. The first place we went Sunday morning was the basilica of the immaculate conception. As soon as I walked in I was overcome with the beauty of the church. We had watched a little movie on the bus ride over describing the church and how and why it was built. Underneath the church there are over seventy different chapels to seventy different representations of Mary from around the world. Every Blessed mother is different but every blessed mother is absolutely beautiful. Going from chapel to chapel, I was determined to find Our Lady of Guadalupe. I have always had a devotion to her mainly because the town I grew up in was very hispanic. The story of how she appeared to a native Mexican and asked for a church to be built has always amazed me. Our lady had so much faith in her son and so much love for him. I know she has the same faith and love for me as she did him. After walking around for a bit I finally found it! There she was, so beautiful, so simple, so motherly. Made of mosaics, she was actually radiating light! I could feel the love she had for me and it was almost as if she was inviting me to spend time with her. 

img_9552-jpg

“If you put all the love of the mothers in one heart it still would not equal the love of the Heart of Mary for her children.” -St. Louis de Montfort  (love this quote)

       I read this quote and I immediately think of my mom. My mom is the best, she loves me unconditionally and is always there to support me through everything. I think of the immense amount of love she has for me and then I think of the even greater amount of love Mary has for me. It is completely insane and something I cannot wrap my mind around. Because of this great love, Mary spends her time in heaven interceding for us and leading us closer to her Son. If we look to Mary, her gaze is always on her Son, she is always wanting us to grow closer to Him. There is no better example of Mary leading us to her son then Total Consecration to Jesus, through Mary.

       “Total Consecration to Jesus is an absolutely beautiful exercise to increase your spirituality and ability to truly serve our Lord Jesus Christ. The basic premise set forth by St. Louis Marie de Montfort is simply that Jesus came into the world through Mary and that for us to always be assured of being close to Jesus, even closer than ever before, we should go through Mary.” For 33 days one says different prayers, reads different scriptures and writings of St. Louis, and grows deeper in love and knowledge of Jesus through Mary. Personally I have finished the consecration twice and am currently in the middle of renewing it my third time. Each time has been a beautiful experience and each time I am reminded of the motherly love and characteristics Mary possesses. She gently grabs me by the hand and walks with me toward a better understanding of her Son.

       Mary has reminded me of her presence in order to help me grow deeper in love with her Son. She is a perfect mother who wants nothing more than her children to know each other. I could go on and on but I challenge you to see for yourself the faithfulness of Mary. Allow her to take your hand and lead you closer to her Son. Who better to lead you to Jesus than the one who brought Him to us by being His mother. Mary, mother of God, pray for us.

-Eileen

Leave a Reply

