The JOY of Authenticity

“ Be who God created you to be and you will set the world on fire” -St. Catherine of Sienna

        Authenticity has been a reoccurring theme in my life recently. I have been thinking about how others perceive me and how I present myself to others. Too often we hide behind masks we create for ourselves. We try to act, dress, and portray ourselves a certain way. When did society get so wrapped up in this obsession with perfection? How did we lose the sense of “realness” in our lives?

       I think a big detriment to living authentically is social media. Too often I find myself wanting to post only the best moments of my life. Without fail I find myself comparing my life to what others want me to see. As I  see their lives, and the pictures, I find myself comparing my ordinary life to the perfected version they put out on social media for the world to see. Where can and should we draw the line?

       Something that I have been reflecting on in my own life recently is discovering who Jesus says I am. At the baptism of Jesus the skies opened up and the voice of God said, “This is my beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased”.  

With baptism we become children of God in his only-begotten Son, Jesus Christ. Rising from the waters of the baptismal font, every Christian hears again the voice that was once heard on the banks of the Jordan River: “You are my beloved Son; with you I am well pleased” (Lk 3: 22) –St. John Paul II

        If this is true, this means that our only source of worth should come from the Lord. If we live with this truth in our hearts, living authentically will come as a natural response. So who cares if we don’t have perfect hair, or if we don’t love adventures, or if we don’t seem to have an exciting and spontaneous life? We are beloved! We are enough! What I love most about living authentically is that my life is going to look different than yours does. We all have different gifts and talents, let’s choose today to stop hiding them behind a filter and a caption and be who God created us to be.  

-Ana

Leave a Reply

