Life with Christ is a wonderful adventure!

When I came to college I knew that my school had the unique privilege of having one of the best Catholic centers in the country. St. Mary’s Catholic Center is unlike any other. A typical daily Mass crowd can range from 200-300 people while a normal Sunday Mass, well over a thousand. In addition to that, there are numerous organizations and opportunities to get involved in. In my past year and a half I have truly taken advantage of all that St. Mary’s has to offer and I couldn’t be happier. My college experience has been far from “normal” in the eyes of society. To some, my life may seem “boring”, to others I may be “missing out” on the greatest years of my life. But I would beg to differ. As St. John Paul II writes, “life with Christ is a wonderful adventure”….and here are three reasons why!

1. I have formed life long friendships rooted in Jesus and His Church

At St. Mary’s I have met some of my best friends. These friendships will last far beyond graduation because they are not based on passing things of this world. Instead, they are rooted in faith and Jesus Christ, the one who cannot change. Life is not meant to be lived in solitude; having a strong community is essential.

Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor. For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion. But woe to the one who falls when there is not another to lift him up.” –Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

2. I have a personal relationship with Jesus

Life is messy and does not always go our way. But Jesus is always there, waiting for us to turn to seek him. At St. Mary’s we have the opportunity to attend Mass every day, even twice a week on campus! We also have the chance to adore Him in the Blessed Sacrament through Eucharistic Adoration.In addition to all of this, there is even confession offered six days a week. The opportunities are endless and all we have to do is respond to them!

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid”. -John 14:27

3. We have FUN!

Balance is difficult to achieve in college. The stress of school can be overwhelming sometimes, but there is nothing better than always knowing that St. Mary’s and Jesus will be there for me no matter what! I cherish the times I get to go to bible study or John 15 (a freshman organization that I am a group leader for). It has been such a joy to be able to watch the spiritual growth of the people I lead in these ministries.

“If you keep my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.” -John 15:10-11

JOY abounds!
-Ana

Leave a Reply

