My “Little Way”

       I’d be lying if I told you St. Therese was one of my Saint best friends. I don’t even think I could say she makes it on my top 5 favorite list. If I’m being honest, sometimes I even find it hard to tolerate her. There’s something about her closeness with God, her confidence she would go to heaven, and her telling her sisters to save her fingernails so they could be used as relics when she became a Saint that just doesn’t sit right with me. While doing 33 days to merciful love this past month (ending on the feast of the Sacred Heart!), I struggled to find the beauty in her “little way” because her confidence seemed anything but that. Well, Therese must have heard my frustrations, interceded for me and begged God to open my heart to his merciful love because halfway through consecration it was as if Jesus showed me my own little way and helped me begin to walk down the path to his merciful heart.
       The focus of 33 days to merciful love is the idea of consoling the Heart of Jesus by accepting all the Merciful Love that other souls don’t want. There is so much love Jesus holds in his heart to be given to each person. Consoling his heart means his beloved offers to receive the love rejected by so many in the world. What I was failing to realize is that consoling Jesus’ heart was just that, something personal between Him and me. I struggled with Therese because she was revealing to me how SHE consoles His heart, not how I can offer to receive His rejected love. It was not until Jesus showed me that my “little way” was different than Therese’s, my little way to consoling his heart was something only I can do, that I began to understand the consecration. He only asked for what I could give. The beauty of my little way was simply Jesus asking me to open my heart to his love. How could I console him if I wasn’t ready to receive his love? How could I receive his love when I was so focused on Therese and others and how I didn’t compare or how my pride led me to believe I was better than them? Jesus gently asked for my eyes to be fixed on him and for my heart to be filled with his rejected love. How could I say no?
       Ask Jesus to show you your own little way and ask St. Therese to fulfill her promise of “spending her time in heaven doing good on earth” and send up some prayers for you!
-Eileen
“I want, O my Beloved, at each beat of my heart to renew this offering to You an infinite number of times, until the shadows having disappeared I may be able to tell You of my Love in an Eternal Face to Face!”  -St. Therese of Lisieux
One thought on “My “Little Way”

  1. Christie says:

    Excellent post! So helpful for me to read. Also, I thought I was the only one that felt that way about St. Therese. When I read “Story of a Soul” there were times, I just couldn’t connect with what she was saying and doing. I wasn’t sure if I could read the whole thing but I’m glad I did. She reminded me of someone in my life that I struggled to appreciate. Actually, there is someone in my life now, who I feel that way about. Perhaps it is jealously and/or pride that puts the wall up to them. I have since learned to respect and appreciate St. Therese and her “Little Way”. As you so correctly pointed out, her way is not my way. That, I must discover on my own, with the guidance of the Holy Spirit. I will pray for her intercession and look for that 33 day consecration you mentioned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

