RA-diant Joy

          Hey there! Eileen here. It’s seems like forever since I’ve written something. All I have to say is, sometimes life gets crazy. Since I last wrote many things have happened but through it all Jesus provided me with consistent joy.  Here’s a little life update for you: last semester I studied in Austria (incredible experience), this summer I worked at Mathnasium again (also great), and now I am currently four weeks into my junior year at Franciscan! As cliche as it is to say, time flies when you’re having fun. God has blessed me in so many ways throughout the past year and I am so thankful for the opportunities he has given me. These past four weeks have been filled with school work, time with friends, and serving as an RA. Honestly being an RA has been so fulfilling and has brought me such a great amount of joy. Yes there are challenges but God has really given me radiant joy in serving the women in my hall!

          I arrived at Franciscan two weeks before the students showed up. The two weeks were filled with talks and different activities for training. Mass and personal prayer time were also included in the everyday schedule. It’s times like these that I am so thankful I go to such a faithfully Catholic school. We were not just formed mentally for what it meant to be an RA but also spiritually. Walking around the dorm before my residents showed up only increased my excitement for what the year was going to hold. I really felt like God had called me to this position for a certain reason and I was eager to find out what that was exactly.

          These past few weeks have been filled with living with my residents, getting to know them and their different personalities, throwing a Texas sized taco party and praying for them each and every day. I think my favorite part of being an RA is the opportunity to grow with these girls and help them transition to school (mainly the freshmen). I love walking down my hallway and seeing doors open because I know I can stop by and say hey. I love seeing my residents finally find the rhythm of their schedule and school work. I love being able to see them grow in friendships and their love for Christ. I love and am humbled by the opportunity to be there for them and pray for them during their semester here at Franciscan. God is good and I am so thankful I can be a witness of his love and faithfulness to each and every resident in my dorm. I have truly found radiant joy in being an RA and I can only hope that my residents receive the joy of Christ that has touched my heart during these past four weeks.

-Eileen

Leave a Reply

